What are the 3 principal types of critical systems?


Types of Critical Systems

Critical systems are those systems, which not only causes inconvenience, no or not-noticeable impact on time, money and life but also causes loss or injuries to life, economical destruction and such bigger impacts when the system fails. There are 3 main types of critical systems, which are safety critical systems, mission critical systems and business critical systems.

  • Safety critical
  • Mission critical
  • Business critical

Safety Critical

Those critical systems which, if fails, can cause injuries to life or loss of life are categorized as Safety Critical Systems. There are various software which are in use in places where life risks are present and can cause loss of life if the system fails. For example, traffic light controller. If the system fails for a while and miss-lead the traffic on the road, serious accidents may take place causing injuries and deaths.  

Mission Critical

A system can associate to a mission or goal. Now that system is a critical system if it causes loss to the mission when it fails. For example, an navigation controller system for spacecrafts. If the navigation fails, the whole mission can turn into a failure.

Business Critical

A critical system which is used with money transaction, bank accounts or other very sensitive information of a business or personnel, causes damage to its purpose when it fails, will be called a business critical system. Thus business critical system causes financial loss when it fails. For example, a system used in bank transaction.  


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.